Cross Stitch: My Baby Bear Quilt

This is a catch-up post for a cross stitch project that has already been completed.

Project #: 41 (But really, I started this long before all of the others, so the number is arbitrary.)
Made For: Me, Myself & I
Details: This is a quilt I made for a distant future child [let’s not get started on that subject, k?].
Completed: June 2014

First, I spent the better part of a decade stitching the kit on & off, which consists of a stamped quilt and all of the thread provided.

MJDblanket_20140605

Next, I had to select materials to finish the quilt.  My mom helped me with this via telephone.  I was on with her during an entire shopping trip to Joann’s Fabrics.  Thank goodness for modern technology!  I was able to send her pictures like the one below to get her on-the-spot opinion on colors and fabrics for the back side.  We decided on the yellow to keep things gender-neutral.

IMG_20140415_113653654

Then I pinned the baby quilt batting onto the quilt top, then pinned on the fleece.  I didn’t cut either material down too much, there were a few inches overlap on all sides, that way I didn’t have to worry about things becoming misaligned during sewing and ending up with a short edge.  Once I was satisfied with the pinning I machine sewed the pieces together.  After sewing I rough trimmed the overlapping fabric off, leaving a slight jagged edge.

IMG_20140823_184840833

Finally, I fine-trimmed all of the edges and added some matching pastel anchor points throughout the quilt to keep all of the layers from shifting through use & laundering(not shown).

IMG_20140823_190047243

But it’s not done yet!  The last thing to do is add this ruffled cotton edging to the outer edge.

IMG_20150928_185725830

The obstacle has been that the edge allowance on that material is so short that it will need to be hand sewn, and I just have not had that to do.  Soon, I swear…

Updates will be made to this post, or it hasn’t happened.

Signature

Leave a Reply

